top of page


The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

2023 Nominees:

The following students were chosen by the Ohio Department of Education, Office of CTE staff as 2023 nominees to the US Presidential Scholars Program/CTE Component:

Brianna Norman, Mahoning County Career & Technical Center - Biomedical Science Program

Ashleigh Maloney, Live Oaks Career Campuses - Auto Collision Repair and Refinishing Program

Ellie Ratliff, Pickaway-Ross Career & Technology Center - Health Science Technologies

Evelyn Megery, The Lake Shore Compact / Mentor Public Schools - Honors Marketing and Business Administration Program

Jay Patel, Butler Tech - Bioscience Program

To learn more about each candidate, please refer to 2023 CTE Presidental Scholars Ohio Nominees or OACTS News: Student Success Spotlight.

Congratulations, nominees!

bottom of page